This little piggy went to the market…🐷

I have lived in Dallas, TX for over 24 years and I had never visited the Dallas Famers Market…until now.  My daughter, my cousin, and me took a field trip to the market this Saturday and we had so much fun.

I was on a mission to buy fresh fruit and veggies, but what I found was a different side of Dallas, TX that I did not know existed.

When we got there the first thing we saw was a cute little petting zoo. Of course , my daughter ran straight to the petting zoo wanting to pet each and every animal. Not all of the animals were picture friendly! ( I mean they were being chased down by toddlers, who has time for a picture!) My cousin and I wanted to take a picture with a cute little black piglet that was running around but every time we (or anyone) would pick him up he would squeal like crazy!  There was a little chick who  was the only one who wanted to take pictures ( chick USIE) …check out the picture of my cousin and the little cute chick below!

IMG_2812

After all the Petting and  the application of tons and tons  of sanitizer we realized that we were pretty hungry! so we headed to the Market Building… Inside we found the a little Mexican Restaurant named Taqueria La Ventana…. this place was delicious!! I ordered two tacos de barbacoa, guacamole with chips, and a quesadilla for my daughter. My mouth was in heaven, the tacos were so good! the barbacoa meat was wrapped in fresh warm tortillas  (my mouth is drooling just thinking about this yummy food).

yeah you know you want some!

IMG_2814

After  we were nice and full we started to explore the rest of THE MARKET…there were tons of little shops, some were selling seafood, ham and cheeses, even these Kanye candles lol

YEEEEEEZZZZUUUUUUZZZZZ!!!

IMG_2820.JPG

I did find my favorite store though…Check it out..

They had tons of Mexican decorations..los queria todos!!! I am definitely going back for the Frida Kahlo day of the dead little statue..I fell in love with it.  I did purchase a Dia de los Muertos Calaberita to go with my Frida Kahlo Painting. ( my husband is the Artist FYI..he did an awesome job  with the Frida Canvas, he is super talented)

IMG_2836

Okay, so I also popped my macaroon cherry! when I saw the little shop selling them I was like “score!!!” I have always wanted to try some but I never knew where to find them..I love how they are so colorful, and I always thought they were soft and creamy..BUT I am sorry to say this.. I DID NOT LIKE THEM!! They were too sweet ( I know how can something too sweet be bad…) and for some reason all tasted the same to me! I tried the Pistachio, the Strawberry  cake, and my daughter got the Fruity Pebbles ( she loved it!). I was really disappointed lol I wanted to be fancy with my Macaroons but looks like I’ll just stick to taking pretty pictures of them.

LOOK AT ALL THE PRETTY COLORS

IMG_2819

 

After all the snack eating and exploring I did get to buy fresh strawberries, Mangos, Chabacanos( apricots), and Jicama ( my favorite!) I actually prepared the Jicama today..

           MY FAVORITE SNACK!!!

IMG_2835

We had a fun Saturday at the market! Afterwards I came and took a small nap and took off to my abuelitas house to celebrate Mothers day!

If you guys are ever in Dallas  THE FARMERS MARKET is a place you guys should check out!

 

      Until next time,

XOXO LIZ

 

2 thoughts on “This little piggy went to the market…🐷

Leave a comment